Extraction and Molecular Characterization of Antimicrobial Metabolites from Streptomyces rochei against Bacterial Leaf Blight of Cotton Caused by Pantoea sp.

Asian Journal of Biological and Life Sciences ,2020,9,2,xx-xx.
Published:June 2020
Type:Research Article
Author(s) affiliations:

Priti Patel1,*, Gayatri Patel2, Priya Mehta3 

1Department of Biotechnology, Mehsana Urban Institute of Sciences, Ganpat University, INDIA.

2Department of Microbiology, Mehsana Urban Institute of Sciences, Ganpat University, INDIA.

3Department of PGDMLT, Mehsana Urban Institute of Sciences, Ganpat University, INDIA.


India ranks among the largest producer of cotton worldwide with high economic value. During the time of cultivation cotton plant normally suffers from the bacterial blight diseases, leading to colour change of affected leaves into light brown exhibiting a blighted appearance. While retrieving the causative agent on nutrient agar plate, yellow pigmented bacteria were consistently recovered which was thought to be caused by Xanthomonas oryzae pv. oryzae, the cotton bacterial blight pathogen. However, physiological and molecular analysis of isolated causative agent was of the bacterium Pantoea sp. eighteen strains of active antimicrobial metabolites producing Streptomyces sp. were isolated from the soil samples of agricultural field of Mehsana district, North Gujarat, India. All the isolates were assessed for antagonistic activity against Pantoea sp. A causative agent of bacterial blight disease of cotton plant. Among the strains tested, isolate Gray-1 showed strong antimicrobial activity. This isolate was identified as a Streptomyces rochei through genetic analysis. The antimicrobial compounds obtained from ethyl acetate extract of Streptomyces rochei were investigated using FTIR and Gas Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry (GC-MS). GC-MS analysis showed the presence 20 bioactive compounds. The most active compounds are 3-Hydroxy-2-Methylbenzaldehyde, 2-Methyl-3-Beta-Furyl propenal, 5-Endo-5-Exo-(Epoxymethano)-6-Methylidene-7 oxabicycloheptane, 4-Hydroxy-Methylbenzaldehyde, 3Hydroxy 4 Methylbenzaldehyde and 3,4 (Methylenedioxy) Toluene, 2-Hydroxy 5 Methylisophthalaldehyde.